Over it.

17Dec09

I have completed my second to last seminary course.  Yeah for me!  So good to have that over and done with.  It was a good course, excellent in many ways, and I appreciate the opportunity to learn and explore, but mainly, I’m just happy to be done.  I noted, probably 6-7 weeks ago, that the weekly homework assignments (which I fell behind on) felt like low-level, constant stress.  It produced non insignificant amounts of anxiety.  I’m very glad that is over.

Now that that course is behind me I’m looking forward to what is next.  I’m very excited about the next – and LAST – class I’ll be taking at Fuller.  The course is ML500 Teamwork and Leadership with Shelley Trebesch.  I’m headed to Pasadena for two weeks in January for the course.  Looking forward to hanging out with some of our Pasadena friends and being on campus for my last class will be wonderful.  I’m bummed, however, that I’ll be there sans family.  And I know they are bummed too.

Between now and when I head West I’m pondering what is on my plate.  This Fall my focus was mainly split between my seminary course and campus ministry at NKU.  Of course, that doesn’t include the day-to-day life management of our family and myself.  It has been a good, but full, semester.  Now that the semester has come to a close and Christmas shopping is almost done, I’m taking stock of things both big and small.  No big revelations or realizations.  Just life.  Very blessed to be surrounded by those who love and care for me.  Incredibly grateful for an opportunity to begin and experiment with a new ministry at NKU.  Excited for this new year ahead of us…. new baby, new gardens, and many new adventures.

I am realizing that I am overwhelmed by the administrative demands of ministry and our household.  Not sure what to do about it, but it just is.  I’m hoping that this new year brings some systemic changes that make for easier management (not of people, but stuff, money, etc…).  I’ve never felt like I’ve needed an Administrative Assistant, but right now I really wish I had one.

2 Responses to “Over it.”

  1. 1 Kami Rice

    I totally hear you about Administrative tasks. From my writing biz to my life, I feel like I can never get out from under them. And they suck life away, for me at least, and distract from the more important things I’d rather give time to. Like you, I can’t figure out how keep from feeling the heaviness of them. Sometimes I think I need to find an intern to shovel the admin work off on. :-)

  2. Congrats on wrapping up that classwork. I’m sure that being on campus for the final class will prove to be a great experience…though domestically challenging.

    As you reflect on life, campus ministry, success, admin stress, etc…let me just remind you that you and Sarah are a tremendous blessing to our family. My journey has certainly been enriched by your presence and friendship over the past year or so. I’m looking forward to more of the same in ’10!

    Blessings,


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

