12Jul03

WoW!! Been too long since I posted. Lots been happening… Sarah is in her 23rd week, all is going well. We find out the gender in two weeks. We’ve got names picked out – but we ain’t tellin’!

Been thinking a lot about what we want to do once we move back to KY. I’m tired of living in the Christian Ghetto/Bubble. Our hearts’ desire is to be a part of a community of folks who are committed to following Jesus, caring for one another, and being involved in our neighborhood. I don’t want to work in or be a part of a traditional or seeker sensitive church. I’m tired of marketed, commercialized Christianity. I don’t want to “reach” all of Lexington, convert everyone I meet, or start a revival. I’m not interested in starting a movement or growing a mega-church. I just want to do life with a group of people – young people, old people, youth, college, kids, girls, boys, women, men, African-American, Anglo, Hispanic, Asian, rich, poor, ….. I want to serve one another, serve our neighbors, and care for creation. I want to worship God with friends that know well and know me well. I want to pray for these people because I can’t help – because I care for them so much that it is the first thing I think of doing – not because they fill out a “pray for me” card and put it in the offering plate.

I don’t want to get paid for this. I want to provide for my family financially, while at the same time getting to know broken, wounded people. People who need Jesus like I need Jesus.

I don’t know how to do this. I’m not sure I a good enough leader, teacher, servant, or friend. I don’t know how I’m going to make money (all I’ve ever done is work in the “church”). But I want to try. I believe this honors God and I believe he will provide. I don’t know how or when, but I believe that he will.

No Responses Yet to “”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

