14Oct03

Started a new class to day, Emerging Church in the 21st Century with Eddie Gibbs. I’m auditing which will allow me to learn without the pressure of earning a grade, which I like very much. The class seems like it will be great! We’ll follow the outline of his book, ChurchNext, but will go beyond what the book offers. Weds. Spencer Burke of TheOoze is coming over to talk with us, it will be open to the community so if you’re in the area come on by! I’ve never met Spencer and look forward to dialoguing with him about the emerging church, postmodernity, faith, and such.

Here are a few notes I took from Eddie today (forgive me if they are not exact quotes, rather my interpretation of his wisdom – I guess you could call it the hermeneutics of Eddie!)

‘We are always an emerging, pilgrim, becoming church until Christ returns’

‘We not only need a Church Growth Department, but we need a Church Euthanasia Department as well’

‘Most church systems (read denominations/structures) can be re-engineered’

‘The church is living God’s future now, not trying to preserve the past.’

Very good and interesting stuff, I’m looking forward to learning more and to the dialogue.

No Responses Yet to “”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

