From: The Eagle and Child: The Theological Depth of “Jesus Loves Me”

13Sep05

Nicely done Russell. I particularly like the trinitarian flavored stanza:

“God in heaven made all things

Jesus Christ salvation brings

The Holy Spirit lives in me

The three in one, the Trinity

Yes Jesus loves me….”

I added this in the comments:

“thanks for putting this out there. i may adopt for another young lady’s bedtime routine.

tho i remix it thusly:

“We are weak but He is strong.

Yes Jesus loves you

Yes Jesus loves me

Yes Jesus loves us

The Bible tells us so.””

That’s been one of my pet peeves with the song… its all about “ME”. The only mention of anybody else (besides jesus) is “They are weak”… so how about “WE are weak” and “Jesus Loves US”. I guess I’m just a collectivist, communist, communitist or something.

No Responses Yet to “From: The Eagle and Child: The Theological Depth of “Jesus Loves Me””

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

