More than Too Much

29Apr06

I would like to work less, and make more money
I would like to live on less, and give more away.

A question was asked today…. “how much is enough?” This in reference to stuff, material possessions, the things that consume our lives that we have consumed. How do we know when we have “enough”?

A thought. What if the question is really “how much is too much?” For I suspect we already have enough. When does our “enoughness” overtake our lives? When does our “stuff-y-ness” fill us up? I’m rambling here…. I’m exploring…. Something about not living by bread alone….

Another thought. What if our community answers that question for us? What if we as a Faithing Body devise a response? Not (necessarily) a formal answer, but what if in the context of relationship we discern our living? In other words, I can’t decide on my own that I have enough (or too much), but my sisters and brothers who are following Jesus with me can. I can’t decide because I will always want more. I will always think I need more. I am insatiable. But God’s people can hold me in check.

I would like to work less, and make more money
I would like to live on less, and give more away.

I work too much. I’m away from my family too much. There are good reasons and bad reasons for that. Necessary ones and dysfunctional ones. I like neither. Here’s my dream (or one of many)….. I would like to walk to work, work about 30 hours a week, and then walk home.

I’m in debt. Not a lot (as American standards go). But enough. I’m tired of it. We got out of debt once, we can do it again. I’d like financial freedom the bondage and constraints of interest and bills.

I would like to work less, and make more money
I would like to live on less, and give more away.

Here are some helpful hints on living on less. We have more than enough. I want to learn how to be less dependant on non-renewable resources. I would love to make our home more “green” and sustainable. That word – “sustainable” – has been seething through my brain for the last couple years. I really really want to learn how to live sustainably in more aspects of life. It is part of how I follow Jesus.

I want to give more – money, but other stuff too – away. I guess I don’t really have anything more to say than that. I would really like to give people more money.

I would like to work less, and make more money
I would like to live on less, and give more away.

No Responses Yet to “More than Too Much”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

