Science Fiction Read-up

03Mar09

Every once in a while I go on a public library binge. Now is one of those times. I’ve been in need a good novel of late so I looked up the nominees and winners of the last couple years of The Hugo Awards. So I checked them all out (we’ll see how many times I have to renew them!), plus Ender in exile by Card, Orson Scott, of which I’ve heard mixed reviews.

2008 Hugo Awards : Best Novel

2007 Hugo Awards : Best Novel

2006 Hugo Awards : Best Novel

2 Responses to “Science Fiction Read-up”

  1. 1 Julie

    If you haven’t read them yet (which could quite possibly be a sin of some sort), read the Dune series. Only the Frank Herbert ones. Your eco interested tree-hugger guy and your inner geek will love them! Plus, they have really cheesy movies/mini-series attached to them!

  2. 2 Chuck

    I just finished reading The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell. I read a lot of fiction, but not much sci-fi. This one intrigued me after hearing the author on a recent Speaking of Faith podcast (probably the best podcast of that series I have ever heard). The Sparrow is a first novel, and had some plot movement “flaws” in my opinion, but the blend of scifi and theology. was fascinating. Could have been subtitled “2020, a Jesuit Odyssey”. Part of the ending, while not graphic, was a bit “disturbing”. I’m getting ready to start the sequel – Children of God


Leave a Reply

